top of page
Every Woman’s Centre is a member of Connect,
the provincial body of Women’s Centres in Nova Scotia
Our History

In 1990 Women Unlimited; a Feminist Society sponsored a Feasibility Study with the aim to have a Women’s Centre operating in Cape Breton. The results clearly defined the need and direction that would be necessary to create a place where all women would be welcomed and receive help and support they needed. Those caring women from that society devoted their time, energy and raised the funds from private donors to make the dream become a reality. Every Woman’s Centre officially opened on International Woman’s Day, March 8th, 1992. A Board of directors consisting of women dedicated to improving the quality of life for women and their families meet regularly to help ensure the Centre continues to operate successfully. Currently we are funded by Status of Women Nova Scotia and represent women’s voices on many provincial and local boards and committees.

Our Vision

The mandate of Every Woman's Centre is to promote the economic, cultural, social and educational interest of women and to initiate and promote programs for the improvement of the physical, emotional and social welfare of women.


Every Woman's Centre is a member of the Cape Breton Interagency on Family Violence consisting of almost 50 community based organizations dedicated to working on behalf of the quality of life of citizens of the Cape Breton Regional Municipality. The Centre has various committees that help plan social events, fundraise, organize the Christmas Adopt a Family program, assist with the Back to School program and help the Centre continue to grow to meet the needs of the women's community.

Our Board

The Board of Directors consists of women with heart and a “can do attitude” dedicated to improving the quality of life for all women. They meet regularly to ensure the centre continues to operate successfully through governance and stewardship.

Tammy Bernasky

Jennifer Hubbert 

Connie MacNeil (treasurer)

Veronica Merryfeld (chair)

Melissa Shand

Beth Shea

Erin Thompson (secretary)

Darlean Whiting (vice chair)


Louise Smith-MacDonald, Executive Director
Wanda Earhart, Support Staff
Diane Parlee, Support Staff

Carol Ann MacDonald, Outreach Worker, Housing First
Chelsea Desveaux, Coordinator SANE Program
Raylene Theriault, HERS Project

bottom of page